On Google Hangout I appear offline to my friends
Not sure why this is in "settings" it’s pretty silly.
If you uncheck the option “Show when you were last online” Google Hangouts will then show you as “offline” to your friends.
You have to keep this turned on for them to see your status.
Doesn’t make sense to me, as it says “last seen online” not sure why this has anything to do with “currently” online.